In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

Lots of parents coney to their children that they can reach anything if they put in the necessary effort. This can make children confident and hard-working, but, at the same time, oversensitive to mistakes and failures. In this essay, I will argue both of these points. Supporting children can encourage them to work harder and be more focused. Proper motivation is paramount to any success and especially in the case of children since they tend to be unsure of their capabilities. The encouragement from parents or teachers that anything is possible can nudge a child into the right direction and make her follow her dream. For example, if a child knows that she can become the best football player in the world it is then likely she will try harder during practice. From the work-ethic and determination she may benefit in the long run even though she does reach a top level. On the other hand, the idea of achieving anything can make kids think that it is possible to accomplish it in a fairly easy way. This can result in a huge disappointment when a child fails at a tough challenge. For example, in a very demanding exam at a grammar school. A child can then feel like a failure and such sudden realization that something is above her level can lead to loss of motivation. If the child had had realistic expectations then she would have been able to took it behinde her back and carry on. In conclusion, telling children that any goal is within their reach can make them focused and dilligent and thus equip them with the right skills that can be used in a future. However, it can also lead to the incapability of dealing with unplesant outcomes of their actions.