Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Language is the primal form of communication. Hence, living in a country where you do not know country’s first language can lead to severe issues such as the inability to find friends or difficulty to get a job. In my opinion, this argument is valid and I will describe both examples in detail. In order to meet new people it is essential to be able to understand them. Since friendships are, in most cases, built on a verbal communication then without the main element of talking it is close to impossible to form any relationship. This can result in a very lonely life that can impact person’s overall well-being. I believe rich social life is paramount to a good mental health. For example, if I could not consult something or share certain aspects of my life with my closed ones I would feel very miserable and my life would be incomplete. The language barrier also poses threats to practical problems. There is only a limited number of jobs that can be performed without knowing a foreign language and such works are usually manual and underpaid. Therefore, it is not possible to land a well-paid job if you do not speak the language of a country you are in. Therefore, it would be hard to make a carrer abroad in this situation and one should expect to live a very low-cost life. In conclusion, I am convinced that not knowing a foreign language in a country one’s staying creates serious issues that impact the overall well-being of the person. The impossibility to make new rapports and difficulty of finding a new job are the most crucial ones.