In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believes the money should be spent on improving exisitng public transport. Discuss both views and give your own pinion.

Nowadays, people residing in different nations hold contrasting views about the spending of funds in the transportation sector. Some believe that it is essential to invest in new railway projects, however, others opine that it is paramount to enhance already established public transport. This essay will talk about both these views and find out which is the suitable procedure to adopt. To begin with, considering the congestion in the cities these days, the development of new railway lines between urban centres is the dire need of the hour. Since the urban sprawl is on a spectacular rise, it would turn out to be a productive outcome if governments spend money on novel projects relating to railways. This initiative will prove beneficial for people living in urban centres because they will be able to reach their desired destinations in time. For instance, they will not get late for their offices and workplaces. Moreover, the building of this means of transportation will have a profound effect on overcrowding cities, thus reducing bottlenecks. Therefore, spending on railway lines will result in convenience for the general populace. Conversely, the capital being spent on already established infrastructure relating to public transport will have some productive consequences. When a government takes an initiative regarding the development of new means of transport, it requires a lot of manpower and investments. Nevertheless, at the same time, they can utilise those workers and money to ameliorate the constituted public transit. For example, they can invest in transforming established public transport into a high-capacity transportation system. That would surely cope with the burgeoning population in the cities. Hence, investments in the existing transportation system will not prove futile. In a nutshell, even though there are benefits of streamlining trains in an urban centre which is now crowded to a great extent, I believe that it requires a great deal of capital, manpower, skilled personnel and heavy machinery. So, it would be more auspicious if a government plans to restrengthen the public transport which is already in use.