Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Internet is a repository storing information that are published over the world and with such immense quantities of that related to many aspects, such as services, job opportunities, it becomes the locus for many job seekers. This perception has reinforced the idea that those are unemployed should be entitled a smartphone so that they can gain access to these data. However this initiative seems not to be optimal because of its feasibility and the imprecise capability to solve problem. The high percentage of unemployment is contributed by many factors and a smartphone can do nothing to decrease that. Although being able to access to the Internet make it easier for many to seek opportunities, for example many companies usually try to outsource those from developing countries with low living cost so that they can cut down the cost of manufacturing, this action is not enough for comprehensively providing job for those in labor pool; Instead, the amount of money used for equipping phones can be allocated into vocational training, improving infrastructure to attract more international investment, generating more job creations. Rather than letting workers engage in the labor pool with no more knowledge but a smartphone, training them to become skilled ones would offer a wider payoffs. Such an initiative can pose threat to both the beneficiaries and the government- the organization that is responsible for phone supply. To phone recipients, they can be the victim of many predators that target their private information or their entitled phone and chances are the phone can not act effectively as a tool to help users but giving opportunities to those having bad intention. On the perspective of the government, this proposal requires a huge national budget and the probability to make changes throughout society is still imprecise. The average price for a smartphone falls around 130 USD,and with many countries carrying a high rate of unemployment, implementing this plan seems to bring more pitfalls rather than advantages. In conclusion, to solve unemployment problem, it demands many sectors to address its roots. With a mere phone, this can not only bring harms to owners but also cause many financial issues for the administration to deal with.