New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As society and technology are advancing by leaps and bounds, people attach great importance to children and their activities. Under these circumstances, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached as to whether the way children spend their spare time is affected by new technologies. I am of the opinion that this trend brings out more drawbacks compared to any positive aspects it might bring. On the one hand, one reason why this trend is advantageous is that it helps to reduce accidents in traffic which could happen on the road. Many studies have shown that although it is invisible, the appearance of tech gadgets changed the entertainment activities of kids in numerous ways. For example, in the past, without technology accessories, toddlers always went to the nearest park to play with their friends. However, these days, because of high-tech stuff kids just want to play games on that in their free time in lieu of going out. This example is an illustration of the fact that the rate of travel accidents would decrease if kids tended not to hang out like before. On the other hand, despite the advantage listed above, I believe that new high-tech gear could result in some serious downsides for children. One downside of this trend could be the lack of physical abilities. As there is a tendency for children to lay on couches or beds in order to concentrate on playing games, they might lose so many opportunities to do some physical exercises. Therefore, they become lazy, and their bodies become supine. Another major disadvantage is the lack of social communication skills. Using new technologies whenever they are free could make kids miss the ability to talk due to the reason that they tend not to hang out and not take part in some community clubs, so they can not make friends with others in real life. Thereby, instead of chatting or talking, toddlers prefer typing through devices. In conclusion, I believe that physical abilities and social communication clearly outweigh any of the minor benefits.