living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. to what extent do ypu agree or disagree with this statement.

In recent years, a debate regarding living in foreign countries has emerged. In particular, some people affirm that moving to another place, where you have to speak another language, can cause social and practical issues. In my opinion, this is partially true, due to difficulties in everyday living caused by the language barrier. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter and the opinion will be given. On the practical side, there could be various problems related to not knowing the language spoken in a certain place. For instance, all the paperwork is generally only written in the local language, without translations or English versions, and this can cause difficulties for more or less everything, from opening a bank account to filing tax declarations. Furthermore, it is common for local inhabitants to have poor English skills and, for this, even basic activities, such as catching a ride on the bus, can become extremely difficult. Regarding the social side, there are even more obstacles to face. Firstly, the language barrier could prevent people from clearly understanding each other, thus creating difficulties in socialising. Moreover, in work or academic environments not being able to express yourself can be a major issue, that can result, in the worst-case scenario, in losing some opportunities that could have been reached. Finally, someone could be excluded from certain activities or events, solely for not knowing the language, generating even more isolation, with all the negative consequences that derive from this. For example, studies suggest that the majority of expatriates move back to their countries within two years for these exact reasons. In conclusion, it can be affirmed without many doubts that living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems. As stated above, every day can be a challenge in these conditions, especially if someone has limited knowledge of the language. For these reasons, studying the local language, before moving to another country, should be encouraged.