Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, criminal activities have increased significantly so that not only adults who commit felonies but also the youth. Some people state that if young people commit violations they should be punished in the same way as adults, while others believe that it is not a wise solution. This essay will discuss both points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, some people say that in order to prevent crime, the authorities should give a trial to the perpetrators without considering their ages. A case in point is Juvenile delinquency which has increased in this modern era. If the authorities with their manpower could give the same treatment to those committers, they will think twice if they aspire to commit crimes. Thus, the juxtaposition between youths and adults in terms of punishment should be done for the sake of tranquillity. On the other hand, I believe that equalizing the forfeiture between teenagers and adults is not a good decision. Unlike adults who can behave with their full awareness, youngsters are still vulnerable and malleable so they are easily influenced by their peers which means that most of their actions are not based on their full awareness. For instance, in order to be accepted in their circumstances, students in high school may have the predisposition to commit criminal activities and mostly because of the influence of their peers. Hence, I strongly believe that similising sentences between those who can think by themselves and those who are mostly influenced by their surroundings are flawed. On the basis of these statements, it can be concluded that some people believe that giving discipline should be done without considering the ages of the perpetrators for reaching serenity in society. However, I argue that since teenagers are still vulnerable and malleable, it is crucial to treat them in different ways in terms of giving discipline. Given this situation, it is paramount for the authorities to find the best solution for preventing crimes without giving harsh punishments to young committers.