These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing computer games instead of doing sports. What is the cause of this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today, with the advent of technology, computers have become an integral part of human life. These days kids are exposed to computers at an early age which has resulted in spending less time into physical and outdoor activities. Nowadays parents and working professionals,have as limited time as it used to be in an earlier generation to spend with their kids, friends and family which has resulted in exposure to computer games right from a young age. The parents find it convenient for their kids to give them access to computers and the kids also like spending time on computer games. In the early days kids used to meet each other and have some physical and outdoor activities but within today’s world every outdoor activity is now replaced with its virtual form, kids these days prefer to play FIFA or football games on their computers and gaming stations rather playing it on the field. Today, the gaming industry is one of the fastest-growing industries due to its high demand. On the other hand, kids these days are reluctant to go out and mix with fellow members from their neighbourhood. This has resulted in fewer human interactions, and affects physical and mental health, continuous screen time also affects children eyesight’s and kids these days are getting eyeglasses at a young age. To conclude, the negative aspects of kids playing computer games overpower the positive ones.