In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

People in megacities have been developing a tendency of living independently or in small family units recently, rather than in extended families. In my own perspective, I believe that development comprises a more range of positive changes than negative effects. Many today believe that living in a small household can enhance the relationship state between family members. This type of family usually comprises just two groups of parents and children without support from the elderly, and by having more time together, the relationship between parents and children would become more stable. Not only can the parents be more responsible for their kids instead of depending on the older generations, but the children can receive most of the love and share from their parents. Unlike small family units or single-parent and extended ones have to deal with more conflicts because of the generation gap, particularly the differences in perspectives between generations or the lack of sympathy. Consequently, the most affected person from these conflicts are the children because of the negative effects, and it also influences relationships. What is more, while some prefer to live as a nuclear family or single-parent households, others are also likely to live alone, especially youngsters. Although living alone can be full of loneliness for some, society has developed numerous nursery centres with modern equipment to look after the elderly, and owning a pet can also be a solution for loneliness. Moreover, with the observation that many previous generations have to work a nine-to-five life and carry a huge financial burden as well as responsibilities for their families, many youths share a trend of living independently without engagement. Thus, living alone would give youngsters plenty of opportunities to have more time for self-care as well as self-growth and it can benefit the population by reducing the number of newborns. To conclude, I trust that living in a small household can improve the relationship between parents and children without serious conflicts in the generation gap as the extended family, or even living alone can also be a positive choice for youngsters to spend more quality time for themselves and due to the far meaning behind it of delaying the growing population.