Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

Climate change is among the principal dangers facing people this century and ocean levels are increasing dramatically. This essay will explore some key issues associated with this trend and come up with some feasible solutions. The most severe problem is this: sea levels creeping up is the flooding of peoples’ residences. Millions of communities all over the world live in coastal areas and if the sea rises by even a few feet, they will be inundated with water and lose their property. Shelter is one of the most basic of human needs and widespread flooding would cause millions of crowd to become homeless, not to mention losing all of their possessions. The devastation brought about by this was clear for all to see during the 2011 Tsunami in Japan, in which millions of people were displaced. On the other hand, there seems to be a variety of possible answers to address this issue. building flood barriers may be the best way forward to tackle this issue. Flood defences, such as dikes, dams and floodgates, could be built along coasts and waterways, thereby stopping the water from reaching populated areas. The Netherlands is one of the most populated areas in the world and also one of the most vulnerable to flooding and they have successfully employed various stream defence systems. In conclusion, stemming the rising tides caused by increasing global temperatures is one of the foremost challenges we face and it will ultimately lead to many of the world’s cities being left underwater, but a possible solution could be to utilise the flood prevention techniques already used by countries like Holland.