In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computer, the internet and smartphone, more and more people are to starting to work from home. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this development.

Working from home is becoming more common among many people due to the rise in the utilization of computers, the internet and smartphones whereas in previous years most persons had to go to their job locations in order to work. This change has it's associated effects which spans through the social, economic and health aspects of the society. This essay will be addressing the benefits and drawbacks of working remotely. Among the numerous positive advantages of remote working is the reduction of cost for both employer and employee. This is demonstrated in the reduction of space and amount of equipments required by the employer in business operation and the worker will save cost by spending less on transportation. In addition, people who work from home have less exposure to occupational hazards as they are not always at the work site. Furthermore, work time flexibility is greatly enhanced by working from home. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages of this recent development is the lack of proper supervision of the staff. With the physical absence of superiors, members of staff may neglect their duties while working from home. Also, the building of office interpersonal relationships are negatively affected by the work -from- home style of work. In summary, working from home has more benefits than drawbacks and these disadvantages may be curtailed if proper checks are put in place.