Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. The scope of the positivity of the pros of healthy eating outweighs the cons. I believe that the government should levy unhealthy foods. A tax on junk food will force people to make healthier choices. A healthier population will benefit society. However, some members of society will feel discriminated against. A tax on unhealthy food will more than likely cause a person to choose healthier alternatives that are less expensive. For example, a person may want to eat chips but if they see that the price is more than a bowl of vegetables then they will be more inclined to purchase the more nutritious food. People will then become healthier and have fewer health problems. Many physical and mental diseases will decrease resulting in an overall better mood and happier lifestyle. A healthier general population will benefit society. As more people will have fewer diseases then less tax money has to be spent to improve an individual’s health. For instance, hospitals that are overcrowded may have a significant drop in the number of people that visit them and therefore there will be more time and resources to help the extremely ill. Moreover, mental illness will also improve which can lead to higher productivity and reduced sick days being taken by a worker. Unfortunately, the part of the public that enjoys unhealthy food will find a fat tax unfair. Members of a society may feel discriminated against and feel that such a duty is not required. To illustrate, an individual will find that paying more money for less healthy conscience food will allow them to have less capital to pay for bills, such as the internet or heating. Nevertheless, it will benefit their overall health in the long run. To summarize, a fat tax will direct an individual towards better eating habits. A person that eats healthier will feel better about themselves and this can have a direct correlation with higher productivity. Ergo, the government should tax unhealthy food.