In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people assert that governments should raise the tax on fast food because eating such food too much leads to health problems. There are two reasons to support this idea: firstly, this action will discourage people to have unhealthy food and secondly, governments will be able to allocate amounts of money to health care. First of all, we must recognize that people tend to eat fast food too much because this food is more economical than healthy food. This can include French fries and hamburgers. By way of an example, young people who are indifferent to their health condition, are likely to eat too much fast food. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper published last month, 60% of young people such as university students in Japan regularly purchase unhealthy food,especially from MacDonald’s rather than better-quality cuisine. As a result, they easily suffer from diseases such as not only diabetes but also cancer. Secondly, governments can invest more money in health care. In fact, research recently conducted by the university of Tokyo discovered that the government in Japan can spend 6 billion dollars more a year on improving the health conditions of their citizens if the rate of tax on fast food increases 15% from 10%. Therefore, the Ministry of Health in Japan is now considering to impose a higher tax on such food to improve the health condition of their citizens. In conclusion, there are significant advantages to rising the tax on fast food higher such as preventing people from eating unhealthy food and spending more funds on health care. We must consider these benefits.