In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Education is arguably one of the most essential elements to the development of children and adolescents. However, disinterest and lack of attendance in schooling systems have become prominent worldwide. And arguably it is a worrying occurrence, as it can enable detrimental effects on both an individual and a societal level. Plausible causes and repercussions will be presented accordingly. One of many possible factors could be our current means of practice when it comes to teaching and learning, which is significantly narrow and systematic. Thus, resulting in a lack of interest due to the insufficient stimulation of individual children. Moreover, bullying and isolation between peers could cause an objection to physical presence, further creating a strong adversary towards school. Another contributor might be the social pressure brought on by fellow students. Considerably, being adolescents, persuasion is more easily possible, as the need to form relationships during this period is crucial. Consequently, a number of adverse issues on a singular and societal level present themselves. The disinterest in these systems, followed by the gradual absence, has a direct adverse influence over personal and intellectual development, and possibly even the ability to properly socialize. These consequences play an indirect advocate in improper behaviour and inadequacy in personal achievement and satisfaction. This could have a larger impact on the community, such as the increase in unemployment due to unattained qualifications and criminal activity due to lack of possibility to adjust in society. For example, simple misdemeanours early on might progress into vandalism, even as far as violent crimes, such as theft or robbery. To conclude, the absence of education during these vital years owed to numerous faults, usually in accordance with some kind of faulty institutional monitoring or organizing, will have destructive outcomes, straining communities of progress.