There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In modern education, the most frequent way of performance and knowledge assessment tends to be carried out by more or less a universal examination method. However, it overshadows other means of grading mainly focused on gradual and individual progress. There are both beneficial and adverse effects of such a method, which will be discussed respectively. On one side, examinations have several preferable qualities. One advantage is the efficiency correlated to the short window of time needed to complete marking. For instance, professors are able to conclude results and pass judgement on overall performance in an immensely short period concurrent with the amount of accumulated material in need of grading. Furthermore, tests are an exceptionally straightforward way of knowledge and skill assessment. Consequently, preparation for students becomes practical to the maximum capacity, which affords a larger window of time to be used by students to organize and study. Conversely, there are numerous adversaries. Although individuals have different intellectual capabilities, this is overshadowed. The systematic quality severely takes away the concept of individual strength assessment of pupils. Hence, further progress on a professional level is altogether taken away due to singular inadequacies. Another argument as to why current examinations are improper, is that they are luck based. For instance, the improper study of a lesser proportion of the given material could deliberately result in an unfairly passed mark. This could lead to fewer job and academic-related opportunities. In conclusion, while there are several positive aspects to our current grading system such as pragmatism and time efficiency, the drawbacks should not go unnoticed, since they could lead to detrimental consequences.