Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people agree that volunteering work will benefit the young generation and also community cohesion. While I agree that assigning an appropriate workload of volunteer jobs to teenagers would encourage them to realize the importance of responsibility in the association they work in, I also agree that all efforts put into volunteering work could affect their academic performance as a student. The main reason why I believe that volunteering activities would be beneficial to the young is that working with peers contributes to enhancing the social skills of young people. Joining a volunteer group with friends from the community would improve teenagers’ multiple abilities such as cooperation, communication and other practical skills. Besides, adults are usually too busy to help the elder neighbours who are indeed the helping hands, while their kids are more flexible and available to assist those older people. For example, young children can help disabled aged people with garden cleaning. Hence, tightening the bonds of the neighbouring residents and enabling a harmonious community finally. However, the young generation should put their educational achievements as the first priority and then be able to consider sacrificing the rest time for neighbourhood volunteering. It is because the energy of the individual is limited, so young adults should organise themselves in a reasonable schedule instating of putting all efforts into volunteering in their free time. Additionally, we can not rule out the possibility that unpaid work is sometimes tedious and strenuous, thus making students waste much time on the jobs. For instance, volunteers at the food bank in the community usually distribute food to low-income families. Therefore, it is necessary to consider the disadvantages before letting pupils work for free. In conclusion, I think meaningful volunteer work is of considerable importance to the young generation in social progress, and they should also make sure it is suited to their needs.