Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this present world, there is a surging trend that more and more people are not used to handwriting with tools. This essay shall explore the causes behind this change before concluding that this is a positive rather than negative development. One of the main reasons for this phenomenon is the growing popularity of some technological products in society, such as the usage of smartphones and laptops continues to rise. Instead of carrying a pen and a notebook, bring one cell phone to play both roles. Also, handwriting is a behaviour that requires strong support from the surrounding environment. For example, people need a flat surface to write on and no liquid or dirt on it. It is not convenient to satisfy these requirements at all times. On the other hand, some people may say it is negative as it goes against the writing traditions, and only works written by tools can be considered masterpieces. However, these views are very outdated. This is a benefit to all human beings who have written needs. For instance, spelling mistakes are common in articles and academic works. For this reason, the auto-correction function on technological products is really friendly and helpful at daily usage. It significantly saves the modification time of office workers and increases the creative efficiency of artists. In conclusion, the fact that more and more people have realised that the traditional writing methods have many inconveniences, they are seeking the evolution of technology can bring them more possible experiences. So, it is a very positive change.