Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, scientific research is considered extremely important for the prosperity of every nation. It is believed that all the discoveries and research related to science should be handled by the public authorities and private organizations should not lead this. I partially agree with it, although private institutes can lead to the fastest results because of the investments and active resources available to them.  On the one side of the coin, the government should take all the responsibility for carrying out research as public welfare, humanity and environmental protection comes under the role of the government. When they will lead the research, they will consider the above factors. For example, during the pandemic, many private organizations develop a vaccine for covid-19. However, only those were being accepted which had the least side-effects and danger to humanity. Therefore, the government should play a key role in handling any specific research as it is going to impact people in one or another way. On the other side of the coin, research carried out by private companies can lead to the fastest results as they have enormous investments, funds and other required means available. This can save our population from potential danger in a timely manner. For instance, during Covid-19 private organizations were able to develop the vaccine first as compared to trials run by the governments. Thus, private institutions have their own importance in terms of scientific research, which should not be ignored. To conclude, I would say, that experiments, discoveries and research are conducted for the welfare of humanity. The government can fully handle this act of responsibility. However, private institutes also play their part by giving the fastest and most reliable results, which ultimately can be used for the development of society and mankind.