Today people are surrounded by advertising. This both affects in what people think is important and has a negative impact on people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

So ubiquitous are advertisements in our brave new world, that critics are displaying a growing distrust of their inherent/entrenched bias and misleading promises interfering with the rational decisions of innocent consumers. With due respect, I find such wariness over the top as adverts could turn out to be quite informative, educational and conducive to the public good. The overarching benefit shall never be ignored that adverts prove to be a fountain of information for the recipients to keep abreast with the latest trend and development of the commercial world. In particular, online advertisements offer real-time insights into how the latest gadgets are performing, a process which would take weeks for uninformed consumers to figure out through other media outlets. For all its limitations and self-promotional persuasion, enterprises present the most up-to-date features of the latest new launches in the best possible light, affording their target audience with ample options to select from. Moreover, advertisements could serve as an economic growth booster, as innovators constantly benchmark the most ingenious prototypes the slickest designs shown in promotional videos and raise the bar for their upcoming inventions. Without the updated information depicting the nuts and bolts the most trendy tools and applications, market participants may well develop a sense of complacency and slacken their pace for outperformance. With the advent of social media, online influencers and opinion leaders have embarked on a self-advertisement offensive on a grand scale, kicking of a new era of individualized and profitable citizen journalism and branding. As a matter of fact, the undue consternation towards advertisements underestimates the immunity of shrewd consumers to marketing hype. It is quite counterintuitive that shoppers tend to grow more discerning when they are given the freedom to receive information, rather than the other way around. Only when we are fully educated and analyzed the pros and cons of a product in detail, can we expect to make informed, sensible purchasing decisions. When all is said and done, advertisements are an integral part of an ever more dynamic society bound by diverse market participants eager for trade and the exchange of ideas. If we put them into perspective, every consumer can be a self-advertiser in his or her own right in an inter-connected world, thus embracing advertisements could enhance social cohesion, to say the least.