Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Children these days are spending a significant amount of their time watching tv. It is argued that as a learning device, television is not a replacement for books, and it is for this reason that presently boys and girls are lagging behind in education. This essay completely agrees with this statement because, unlike television, books are a source of knowledge and learning only, and habit of reading develops skills of understanding and concentration. Books have always been considered a means of getting knowledge and learning. That is to say that from the ancient past, children have learnt different subjects by trying to read relevant books while television is an innovation of the recent past. In addition to academic books, those students who have developed this practice of reading novels or autobiographies or poetry, it has been seen that they have surpassed others. On the contrary, youngsters who watch tv most of the time, do not learn that much, especially relating to education. For example, in the civil service competitive exams in Pakistan, data shows that the highest mark-getters are those who are reading different kinds of books since their childhood. Another reason why this essay agrees with this statement is that with books, readers can develop skills of understanding and concentration. This is because when someone reads a book, he has to understand the meaning in order to proceed further, otherwise, he will not be able to continue. These traits are generally not developed when someone is watching a drama or any sports game on the tv. For example, in developing countries, where children spend a majority of their time on tv as against reading books, their literacy rate is significantly less than in other developed countries where the trend of reading books is more. In conclusion, despite the fact that television is also helpful in getting an education, it is admitted by a majority of people that tv cannot take place of books because of the knowledge and learning they impart and skills which are honed by books.