In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

These days and age, many countries struggle with the question of how the transport system should be improved. The majority of individuals claim that novel railway lines should be constructed, but others argue that it is better to spend money on enhancing current public transport. Personally, I believe that building new railway lines is more efficient than changing old transport to new ones, however, both views will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, the construction of new railway lines is a more effective way of connecting cities. Firstly, the railway line will be built with modern technologies with the last technical achievements such as wi-fi, charging phones and controlling driver's tiredness. Additionally, it might be time-saving for lots of people due to the high speed and qualitative materials. Therefore, it should reduce the number of carbon footprints emitted by cars during traffic jams as well as the number of car owners might be decreased. Hence, it seems that establishing a new rail line for fast trains should be paid off. On the other hand, changing old transport modes to new ones will save a huge amount of money. Buying public transport with the latest inventions might be profitable because of its energy-saving characteristics and conveniences. For example, nowadays a multitude of countries use electric or hybrid vehicles which do not harm the environment and do not use fossil fuels. As a result, the alteration of old transport types to new ones should be economically friendly way and result in the usage of the remaining money for expanding or enlarging current roads. In conclusion, there are two good ways to improve the country's transport system, although each development has its own benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, constructing a new railway line for rapid trains might be the best choice according to the increased number of cars in all countries.