nowadays some buildings such as offices have open space design instead of separate rooms. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no denying the fact that the main impact of organized work offices is debatable. While it is a commonly held belief that having modern offices that contained wide and open areas might help employees to be more sociable than in closed rooms. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits. There are people who argued that the benefits of modern open work areas considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the new offices might help employees to be more social and more productive. For instance, a prestigious journal article published that 80% of the companies reported higher productivity when they changed their office design to a modern open place. To illustrate, new style offices might strengthen the bond between employees as they are facing each other, as well as will help in developing competitive atmosphere for the workers when they work together. Thus, it becomes apparent that having open offices can have more advantages for companies and workers. There are also certain disadvantages of having wide areas of offices. Firstly, providing employees with a modern design workplace might destroy their privacy when their offices are open to each other. For example, the individual might suffer from a specific disease such as Parkinson's disease that have some symptoms like shaking hand, the worker might feel embarrassed to show such symptom in front of his work colleagues. Clearly, open areas and offices might stress the employee more as they will feel insecure. Indeed, this makes it clear that having a modern workplace can damage employees ' privacy and security. In conclusion, the modernized workplace may positively impact the workers and the companies as it has several advantages such as increasing the bond between the employees and raise in productivity. However, it can negatively affect their privacy and security.