Influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

In recent years, a debate regarding human influence on the planet has emerged. In particular, it has been noted that human activity is causing mass extinctions and loss of biodiversity. In this essay, a brief explanation of the issue and some possible solutions will be given. Starting from the causes of this loss, it can be said that there are two major phenomena that are endangering wildlife. First and foremost, global warming is causing a series of disruptions in many ecosystems, destroying entire ecological niches. Global warming is caused by greenhouse gas emissions, as a consequence of many human industrial activities, such as energy production, transportation and many others. In fact, studies suggest that global warming is the main cause of nature-related issues in all continents and can become a problem for the survival of humankind. Moreover, deforestation is another detrimental action for wildlife. Many forests are being cut down to gain more soil for intensive farming or to get some fossil fuel resources, thus depriving animals of their ecosystems. Given all this, possible solutions, to stop the loss of biodiversity, should tackle these causes. As a result, one solution should be to reduce GHG emissions and it can be done by using clean sources of energy, which are renewables and nuclear ones, in place of fossil fuels. Research suggests that by switching to these energy sources, global warming-related problems would be solved within a century. On the other hand, for deforestation, an answer could be eating more vegetables and less meat, because farming requires not only more soil but also more water, a resource that is becoming more and more scarce. In addition, studies suggest that if all people in the world start to eat meat only two times a week, the need for land will drastically drop. In conclusion, it can be stated that human society is causing many environmental issues, that are leading to some important consequences. At the same time, it should be noted how there are solutions which, if applied, could stop this trend. Nonetheless, actions should start now, because the more time passes, the more the damages become irreparable.