Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that young individuals should be asked to involve in volunteer community work when they have spare time since this can be advantageous for themselves and society. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement for some reasons. On the one hand, it is undeniable that participating in community activities may bring about several positive impacts. First, teenagers may gain unexpected self-improvement from this trend, which could give them a lot of opportunities to meet new friends, have more precious life experiences and a bunch of helpful soft skills. For example, if an adolescent organizes a free class to teach poor children a foreign language, like English, he is able to practice his language ability, communication skills, flexibility, creativity as well as his skill of patience. Second, young people reckon that they not only volunteer because of personal development but also for the sake of the whole society's prospects. Working for charity projects, cooking at a soup kitchen or devoting time and effort to cleaning up local streets all help our community become a better place to live. On the other hand, I do not consider forcing teenagers to do those jobs in their free time a good idea. To begin with, it is better not to push them because this may create some negative feelings if they have to do something they do not really want to. Only when people are ready and realize what the actual merits of voluntary activities could be, they will spend time on them enthusiastically without resentment. In addition, teenagers are students who must work really hard at school under a lot of heavy pressure from their teachers, peers and families, so they have an understandable need for a quality relaxing time. Instead of being required to finish unpaid work, they had better possess a right to choose suitable leisure pursuits for themselves, such as hanging out with friends, watching blockbuster movies on Netflix or travelling somewhere. In conclusion, although doing unpaid community work is beneficial for the development of both young individuals and the public as a whole, I hold a conviction that this should be an optional activity in their free time rather than a compulsory one.