Some people think that teenagers should be requested an unpaid job in their free time. They believe that these will be helpful for both individual teenagers and local communities. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people assert that teenagers should do volunteering in their spare time as it can be beneficial to both individuals and society. In my opinion, despite being a positive contribution to the community as a whole, it is not inappropriate to force teens to do unpaid jobs and I therefore disagree with this opinion. In our globalized world, volunteering has been increasingly demanding for our society since adults are struggling with their families’ financial burdens and they are not able to look after the elderly people who are in the need of help. Furthermore, there are tons of vacancies in essential volunteering projects such as local charities, nursing homes, public libraries and environmental preservation projects. For this reason, most people think that teenagers are suitable to cope with these demanding unpaid jobs and it would be beneficial to our modern society. On the contrary, academic studies have been much more competitive than it was in the past and the atmosphere in classrooms has been challenging. Teens need to study continuously at a fast pace in order to not get behind their peers. For instance, in Myanmar, most students in secondary schools are doing extra curricula studies after all-day learning at public schools. Hence, teens are already under enough pressure with their educational schedules and society should not force them to do unpaid jobs in their leisure time rather than encouraging them to take a rest. To conclude, even though teens’ contribution to volunteering might be beneficial to our society, they should be able to recharge their energies after a hectic day at school instead.