Some people say that the educational success of a student is the result of the work of a good teacher. Others say it depends on the character of the student. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether a student’s academic success depends on the guidance of a teacher or not. As far as I am concerned, although the role of a talented teacher is partially important, personal effort is essential for being an outstanding student. On the one hand, many people, especially parents, believe that excellent academic lectures or instructors are crucial for their children to be educated because most students can be encouraged to study only by their admired teachers, not by their parents. For instance, in a survey by the Myanmar government in 2019, 75% of parents wanted their children to study in private schools where there are an enormous amount of teachers and trainers observing the students all day rather than in government schools. It means that most parents tend to rely on teachers for their children’s educational success. On the contrary, others believe that who determines success is the student himself. I firmly agree with this belief because even an excellent teacher cannot help a lazy student achieve the highest scores. It only depends on the learner’s dedication to particular subjects. For example, a teacher generally teaches thirty pupils in a class equally, but only a few become outstanding. This is because individual efforts are more important than a teacher ’s instructions. To conclude, although it is not deniable that the guidance of an excellent teacher is partially necessary, individual dedications and personal efforts are essential for a student’s academic success.