Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

There are those who claim that traditions should be in the past, while technological development is about the future, and that people should let old-fashioned ideas go in order to not suppress progress. I partially agree with this statement, because,on the one hand, traditions help to keep our identity, however, on the other hand, they should adapt, due to the fact that they could be an obstacle to creating innovation. Turning to positive aspects of keeping tradition, not only they helped individuals to identify themselves as part of society or nation, but they also create some kind of stability in their lives. For instance, there are investigations which showed that people tend to feel better when they keep a routine of some celebration, it makes them feel a part of a community. Also keeping traditions and maintaining them in a family, gives parents the opportunity to teach their children about their heritage and culture, furthermore spending some time together, which is definitely beneficial for both. Despite the fact that such views and ideas could have positive implications,especially, for the mental and emotional state of individuals, there are some beliefs which make it much harder to create new technology and be open to future innovations. For example, in some,cultures it is forbidden to donate blood or organs, which could even save people's lives. I believe that such out-of-date views should adapt to modern life, and change. In conclusion, I would like to point out that tradition is important for society in order to maintain their culture, however, some of such ideas should change due to the fact that they could restrict technological development and progress.