Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the increasing number of budget flights for holiday-makers has led to the construction of airports, noise and pollution. It has been argued that raising taxes significantly on flights would be an appropriate answer to these issues. Although raised taxes would decrease the number of flights, I am of the opinion that this action would do more harm than good. Raised taxes on air traffic would naturally result in fewer flights and this would be advantageous for a number of reasons. Firstly, with the resulting reduction in flights, fewer airports would need to be constructed. This may be a good outcome because airports are very costly for governments seeing that expensive infrastructure such as roads and rail lines are required to reach them. Secondly, with fewer flights comes less pollution. This would be a great result for the environment because aircraft run on fossil fuels and significantly contribute to global warming. However, there are significant drawbacks associated with decreased numbers of people flying. First of all, this tax would lead to many job losses. Airlines and airports employ many thousands of people and without them mass unemployment would be the alternative. In addition, considering the fact that many of these flights are to tourist destinations, the economies of tourist hotspots would be severely damaged. This would greatly reduce the income of restaurants and equipment hire businesses and devastate entire communities. In conclusion, while raising taxes may seem like a good idea, I believe that the negative effects of this change would be far greater than any of its possible advantages.