death penality is best way to control and reduce the crime rate to what extent do you agree ?

In recent years, a debate regarding methods to prevent crime emerged. In particular, some people argue that the death penalty is the most efficient way to achieve a reduction in the crime rate. Personally, I think this view is incorrect because fear does not resolve the crime problem and the scientific community has demonstrated that. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that the risk of death could be a deterrent for some criminals. In fact, many countries still use this method to try to control serious crimes and prevent them. Some studies suggest that, in the first years after implementation, the death penalty could have some beneficial effect, effectively reducing the crimes for which it is applied. Furthermore, it could be said that the most serious offenders, such as terrorists or serial killers, cannot be re-educated, thus incarcerating for life or killing them is the only solution. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that the death penalty is the best way to control the crime rate. On the other hand, the death penalty has some detrimental effects that cannot be overseen both morally and practically. Firstly, on the practical side, capital punishment is not as efficient as it could be imagined. Researchers suggest that, while at the beginning there is a reduction in crimes, in the long period the serious offences grow in number because of the violent culture fueled by the justice system itself. Moreover, on a moral side, killing another human goes against the stated mission of justice, the re-education, and puts the government on the same level as the criminals. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the affirmation that the death penalty is the best way to control crime. As stated above, not only it does not work, but also it is morally wrong to decide on the life or death of another human. In addition, the role of justice should be to punish and give the opportunity to change for the better, not eliminate from society non-functional members.