In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

In recent years, there was a spike in crime in many states. This is creating a series of issues in society and the causes for the phenomenon have been studied and analyzed by researchers. In the essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given along with some possible solutions. Starting from the causes, it is undoubtedly true that social and economical problems are the main factors that drove the growth of crime. Firstly, on the economical side, this has been years of difficulty for many families, which could not afford in some cases to sustain the education of their children, thus letting them the choice between an honest low-paid job or crime, and, unfortunately, the second option has seen great popularity. Furthermore, on the social side, the growing disparities between the wealthiest and the poorest members of society have fueled some rage, which translates into more crimes committed. This can be seen even in everyday experience, with the growing amount of protests against the current situation. Nonetheless, knowing the causes, solutions that tackle them are possible. First and foremost, economical and educational issues should be resolved, and this is possible with increased social security that allows families to sustain the studies of their offspring. Some studies suggest that the more a society is educated, the less is crime rate, hence demonstrating the role of education in crime prevention. On the other hand, regarding social issues, the disparities should be reduced with a political intervention that helps poorer families. For instance, Scandinavian countries, which have strong welfare, have a low crime rate, and this could be one of the reasons. In conclusion, it can be stated that some solutions are possible but it could be difficult to implement them. As stated above, the upward trend in crime has some major causes, but it is a complex matter that needs time to be resolved. Despite this, the resolution should be not only a priority among the others, but also the main one.