With the increased global demand in Oil and Gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by some that, due to the increased demand for fossil fuels, left-out areas of the world should be explored. Though I agree with this opinion, I also disagree with it. Having said that, I will present both my views and my opinion. Firstly, our all day to day activities revolve around energy. A lack of energy producing resources can negatively affect our social structure. In addition, it can cause social unrest. Secondly, exploration of undiscover areas is the fastest way of fulfilling the demand of fossil fuels. Moreover, experts are developing natural alternative resources, but these solutions won't suffice in solving immediate pressure. Finally, there are still significant amounts of supplies left that have never been excavated. For example, recent research shows that oil can suport us up to 50 years and natural gas up to 53 years. However, there are also some drawbacks. First and foremost, the biggest negative impact of oil and gas consumption is the pollution of the environment. What is more, oil and gas contribute significantly to global warming due to their large carbon footprints. Secondly, excavation remains part of the geography of these resources and will further harm the ecosystem. Moreover, it will lead to more trees being cut down and endangered wild life species above and below water. Lastly, oil and gas won’t last more than fifty years. Green energy is the only solution to this problem. For instance, the United Nations has 17 sustainable goals. The seventh goal focuses on affordable clean energy, and they aim to achieve it by 2030. In conclusion, the disadvantages are more significant than the advantages. Despite the fact that green energy will take over fossil fuels in slowly and gradually. It cannot be achieved overnight. With this in mind, it is recommended that we all promote renewable energy.