Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There have always been challenging views on what the function of universities should be. Some people believe that a university is responsible for providing the necessary skills and techniques, which are needed in forthcoming jobs. Others think the role of universities should be to give students much knowledge, whether it is required for a future job or not. I believe that universities fulfil both purposes. To begin with, some students have a specific profession in their mind when they enrol at university. They consider a university where they can learn many skills and techniques to meet all requirements, which will be needed in their future jobs. For example, medicine and engineering have clear career paths, so they do not need to be taught general courses like language or history. Universities should prepare those students for competitive working environments in the future. On the other hand, it is not suitable for everyone because not all students studying at university know about their future job, and they just want to continue their further education, which meets basic requirements in order to find a better job in the future. For example, some 18-year students are not aware of their abilities and interests affecting their decisions to find their career paths. Universities should provide knowledge for those students, in order to help them to make a decision about their future jobs. Therefore, they need to learn some general subjects. In conclusion, the function of universities is not only to prepare students for the workforce but also to provide general knowledge for some students, who do not have a specific purpose for their future jobs at university time.