The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic in cities is growing at a faster pace with the surge in the use of automobiles. Few people believe that the only way to minimise traffic congestion is to make a reduction in the use of transport for professional, academic or leisure activities. I partially disagree with the notion, thus, I will discuss both sides before reaching a detailed conclusion. To begin with, there are not only single but various things which lead to traffic congestion. Road facilities are not that greatly developed which can cause traffic congestion. In other words, roads heavily affect the speed of vehicles and are a major cause of traffic. In addition, not following traffic rules is another big reason for the increase in traffic congestion. That is, there are rules regarding the movement of vehicles on roads according to their mass, speed limits, and traffic signs, which are often ignored by the citizens. For instance, there are a few areas where people ignore a traffic signal and move recklessly, which leads to traffic jams. On the other hand, transport for work by an individual is a leading contributor to the rise of traffic. Explaining in simple terms, people travel to work every day making roads and highways congested. Moreover, the main reason is everybody uses private vehicles and not public transport facilities. To exemplify, megacities like Mumbai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, and so on have lots of companies and industries, hence, many people travel to work every day which causes serious traffic congestion. Furthermore, people go shopping in malls and markets physically, their numbers are also increasing. Students are now going to schools or colleges in their own vehicles and not on buses. In conclusion, though transport for work, academics and shopping play a vital role in traffic congestion, there are many more other reasons which to contribute to the same. Hence, I believe that every aspect should be taken into consideration before making any decision.