Happiness is considered very important in life, but it is hard to define. Why is happiness difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

It is true that happiness plays a significant role in our life, while people can seldom define it precisely. Defining happiness can be such a tough question because of different personal situation, however, by finding appropriate approach, everyone can achieve their own happiness even though different people may have different opinions on it. Happiness can be difficult to define mainly due to the fact that individual requirement is not all the same. To be specific, people who are struggling with lack of food or clothes, may pay more attention on how to figure out their living problems, hence, they will urgently attribute all of time on their work to generate enough money for living, in this occasion, they may define happiness as having a spacious place to live, or having sufficient food to eat. Compared with low income people, people with higher income may have already fulfilled their basic safety and physiological needs, they probably are prone to focus on how to achieve phycological needs, such as esteem, self-authentication, and even transcendence, instead of defining happiness as having enough necessities, the majority of them will define happiness as the fulfilment of mental demands. Given the fact that people tend to have different definition about happiness, I hold that people can achieve it by different methods. For the low income group, survival is their first principle, which means, income and living environment are the most important factor for them, hence, finding a stable work or a high payment part-time job may be crucial for them to achieve happiness. However, for high income people, they may already have a highly rewarding job, so some emotional factors, such as family relationship, and social esteem can have a larger impact on their happiness. In conclusion, although happiness is hard to define, different people can achieve it by different means.