The internet is often harmful, especially to young people, due to the amount and type of information people can access. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

In recent years the use of internet has grown beyond recognition, bringing a new set of concerns with it. The majority of people are using internet every day which makes their lives much more convenient. Despite this, however, there is evidence that internet is often harmful due to the amount and type of information people can access. I therefore agree that the internet brings us a lot of opportunities and it brought the world to tremendous progress. This essay explores several reasons why the internet could be considered a positive rather than a harmful factor in people's lives. Firstly and most obviously, nowadays most houses have at least one computer or a mobile device so young people and children have constant access to the internet. This can be a useful tool for their school work and for keeping in touch with friends. For example, it is now common to do projects and prepare presentations by using internet instead of trying to find an information in books. Secondly, although it has also never been easier for young people to access information that is not appropriate, such as violent or adult sites, parents can control the availability of inappropriate information. In fact, if parents set the parental controls or filters their children would access only appropriate information which is a much healthier way to deal with school affairs. There are reports of people who rarely control what content their children are watching which can break their psyche. Finally, even if internet has many misleads, young people should learn how to weigh up evidence. Unfortunately, there have been several reports of people being deceived by someone in internet. This is because internet allows us to publish any information. In conclusion, I would argue that while the internet can be adverse, especially for young generation because of misleading content and inappropriate information, for a number of reasons the internet itself is not particularly harmful.