The money spent by goverments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some governments invest a lot of money in space exploration programmes. While I disagree with the idea of abandoning these projects completely, I do believe that the guarantee of public services should be a prerequisite. There are several reasons why the need for public services should be met first and foremost. Firstly, they are directly related to our daily lives. For example, we all need schools so that we and our descendants can be educated and thus develop our society, whilst hospitals and the police help people save their lives and avoid crime. Secondly, compared with space exploration, allocating funds to public services is less risky and positive results can be seen in a relatively short period of time. Finally, according to Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, when people's basic needs to live and be cared for are satisfied, they can turn their attention to the outside world and have the will to explore. However, I do not think that the projects of space travel and research should be absolutely discarded as well. The argument in favour of abandoning all such projects may be a shortsighted view. It is undeniable that the Earth has been harmed to some extent by mankind through environmental pollution, war, etc., leading to frequent natural disasters and global warming. In the future, or even in the near future, we may need another planet in order to survive catastrophes. Even if such extreme incidents don't occur, when we remain curious we can learn from the universe and recognise other possibilities, and having a big picture can always be helpful. In conclusion, my view is that governments could spend more money on space projects, which would be necessary, but only if there are enough public services to take care of people's current lives.