Task 2: The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that in order for a country to progress more funding should be allocated to medical research instead of environmental protection. While I agree that health research does need extra funding, this should not be at the expense of environmental preservation, which is also crucial to a country’s development. The first benefit of funding for clinical research is that it can have enormous impacts on human health. This is because clinical experience can provide valuable feedback for improving the use of drugs. For example, the approval of a vaccine is based on a series of controlled clinical trials, often with a few hundred patients, but after approval, it can save millions of lives. Therefore, tracking clinical experience with the drug is important for determining the effectiveness in different populations. Conversely, without sufficient funding from the government, scientists could not carry out necessary research to develop new medicines and treatment guidelines for the public. On the other hand, I also support government spending on the environment as only the government can pass laws to protect the environment and create regulations to enforce those laws. For example, the government can regulate wastewater management by requiring industries to emit only acceptable amounts of specific pollutants. Furthermore, another large-scale measure that only the government can do is promote green energy. They could invest more in new-energy technologies to find better alternatives to fossil fuels. By doing so, each country can reduce its global emissions from energy production. In conclusion, while I agree that clinical research should receive substantial funding from the government because of its tremendous benefits for the community, I still feel that only large-scale funding from the government can address environmental issues.