Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Plastic packaging has caused serious environmental problems these days. Many people are debating on whether corporations or individuals should bear more responsibility. In my opinion, although companies are obligated to produce less packaging, It is more of an individual effort to reduce pollution. Supermarkets and manufacturers have been offering packaging to customers since the invention of plastic. It was often considered convenient in the past due to its lightweight. However, as there has been a surge in the use of packaging over the past few years, people are gradually realizing that it could be detrimental to the environment. Therefore, advocates are calling on corporations to reduce the amount of packaging on their commodities, preventing further environmental damage. I agree that big companies could take steps to cut down their packaging use, nevertheless, the root cause for its prevalence is mainly due to the market demand. Individual action plays a crucial role in deciding what products flow into the public. Because people have always found the packaging to be not only convenient but also attractive, they are actively choosing items that have well-designed packaging. As a result, these commodities tend to become more popular in the market as they are highly demanded. For example, the wide use of bottled water demonstrates how everything can be commodified by using proper packaging. If a person wants to drink water, they can always choose to boil water via kettle instead of creating more empty water bottles. Thus, It is up to the individual effort to reject these products To conclude, despite corporations and manufacturers being the producers of various sorts of packaging, people's consumption is the driving factor behind their popularity. Hence, It is important for the government to raise public awareness against the use of packaging.