It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Having a gap year after graduation has become common nowadays. Although this is advantageous owing to the fact that graduates become more prepared for the future, there are also drawbacks that should be taken into consideration. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to having a year off before enrolling for tertiary education. First, school graduates have the opportunity to experience new things in life away from a school where almost everything taught is in books. In other words, those who decide to have a gap year acquire new life skills which are needed in the future. Secondly, youngsters can learn the value of hard work and money. For example, if they obtain a job to afford their living during this year, they will spend it wisely. This can teach them to be more autonomous and be responsible for their future decisions. On the other hand, one problem when having a gap year is that students become away from study for a long time. As a result, they can lose their interest in further study because of the other activities they are involved in. Another possible issue is that some students get well-paid jobs. Consequently, they decide not to enroll for any further university education. In addition, this gap year can be a waste of time and leads to detrimental consequences if it is not planned well. For instance, the plentiful leisure time that graduates have may spur them to illegal actions or to commit a crime. In conclusion, while having a year off after school can be beneficial, it can also lead to a reduction in the number of students attending university and criminal behaviors as well.