Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and environmental pollution have become vital problems in the present. It is argued that these two problems can be solved by increasing petrol prices. I strongly disagree with this statement as there are several other causes to increase traffic and pollution. In my opinion, poor public transportation and poor road conditions are the two main reasons among many others. If public transportation is at a good level, people do not tend to use their private vehicles during rush hours. For an instance, a Sri Lankan university did a survey about reasons to use personal vehicles, and poor public transportation turned out to be the primary reason. On the other hand, damaged roads increase traffic congestion significantly. A good example would be the Colombo - Galle main road in Sri Lanka, which experienced a high volume of traffic due to damaged areas. This was sorted after the road development authority fix these places. In terms of pollution from vehicles, gasoline is only one reason which causes environmental problems. But there are other causes as well, such as disposing of used engine oil and old tires, disposing vehicle-washed water and chemicals etc. Considering these points, I do not believe that pollution or traffic problem can be sorted by increasing fuel prices. However, the government can take other effective measures to mitigate these controversial problems. The very first solution is improving public transportation, which can contribute to the reduce traffic immensely. For example, Bangladesh replaced the old railway system with a new electric train system that has high-class facilities which reduced private vehicle usage by 65% on weekdays. The second solution is to encourage people to buy electrical vehicles instead of gasoline cars. This directly supports to mitigation of the problem of carbon dioxide emission. To illustrate that, many European countries nowadays offer larger discounts to those who buy electric vehicles, as a result, the usage of fuel has reduced significantly. To conclude, some individuals believe that rising fuel prices are the most effective way to solve increasing traffic and pollution issues. Nevertheless, above discussed aspects prove that it is completely wrong and there are various other reasons that cause these problems. Also, there are plenty of other measures that might be effective in terms of solving growing traffic and pollution.