Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people hold the view that the government should invest more money in the construction of the railway instead of building roads. From my point of view, it is rational to fund more money on building rail lines, while I disagree that materials and resources allocated on roads should be decreased. There are several reasons why more WTH should be spent on railways. First, rail lines could connect towns and villages in different provinces, and all logistics may be achieved by trains. Secondly, high-speed railways contribute to the faster movement of people. For example, it takes more than five hours to get from Kyiv to Lviv by car, while it takes only two hours to take high-speed trains. Finally, the construction of new rail lines could create a huge number of jobs and reduce unemployment. On the other side of the coin, the large number of funds invested in building roads should not decrease. Some regions are limited by geographic factors, such as rivers or mountains, which makes railway building extremely dangerous and expensive. However, people living in such extreme places could not afford a comfortable train ticket. As a result, the importance of road construction should not be ignored, as it provides cheaper ways of transportation. In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is a good thing that governments allocate more funds to building railways, but the amount of money provided for road construction should not reach a lower level.