Some people argue that exams put too much pressure on university students, but others think that dealing with pressure is an essential skill to develop before people begin employment. Discuss both sides of the argument and present your opinion.

Academic assessment of people undergoing higher education has been in existence since the inception of formal education. This has been a source of great stress for the students which a school of thought thinks is undue whereas another group suggests that exposure to this type of training helps individuals to gather abilities to cope with and overcome stress when they become employed. Regardless of the stress that may arise from academic examinations, I am of the opinion that students should be allowed to undergo these checks as they benefit the partakers more. Firstly, examinations provide a standardised feedback mechanism for analyzing the level of reception of ideas that have been taught by the teachers. Humans are very complex beings with varying personalities, this means that different tutors may have different perspectives about what to assess in those they are tutoring as a result not offering equal judgement as regards the performance of those learning from them but with exams students are graded using the same scale. Secondly, having to undergo an exam help learners to develop other areas of their lives. Answers to questions drafted for academic tests require planning, problem identification, and good communication skills so as to perform well. With exposure to this type of subtle training, students can better manage pressure when they begin to work. On the other hand, one of the major disadvantages of putting students through academic assessment is that the stress may be too much for some students to bear. This can be seen in the negative effects that it may have on their self worth and health. For instance, a lot of students develop depressive or anxiety disorders close to exam periods because of the pressure to meet up with the required score. In summary, students should be allowed to partake in exams as this prepares them to face pressure from their work place