Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People find themselves at loggerheads regarding the issue of whether artists should be given unrestricted liberty to create, including visual and auditory products. Although many people underscore the importance of freedom in aesthetic fields, it is my firm belief that authorities should be in charge of censorship and supervision for the following reasons. On the one hand, it is undeniable that governmental interference in art might hamper innovation and creativity in the art field, which would be detrimental to the advance of human arts per se. If painters and artists are required to obey plenty of regulations of authorities, such as the limitation on contents or genres, their outputs will be less avant-garde and impressive. For instance, medieval artwork is more tedious and monotonous than Renaissance one, since the former was under excessive control of the church, but the latter was conceived in a freer era. Thus, governors should safeguard artists' freedom of creation. On the other hand, what could not be ignored in this discussion are the drawbacks and potential hazards caused by free art. Firstly, there might be some antisocial and violent content in the artwork that should be inhibited by the authorities; otherwise, it will cause disorder and even massacre in society. As a typical example, some artistic works reflected the thought of racism and anti-semitism should undoubtedly be banned via governmental scrutinization, in order to ensure basic human rights and social stability. Secondly, from the perspective of education, administrators should filter the artwork and restrict some bloody and illegal products, such as sexy and violent pictures and videos that have negative effects on children’s mental health. Most children have not been fully cultivated with criticism and discernment, governors should therefore take measurements as precautions to build a better and healthier growth environment for children. In conclusion, although the freedom of creation in art fields is crucial for the further improvement of human arts, artistic outputs should still be supervised by the authorities in order to uphold social security and a healthy growth environment for juveniles.