computers are being used more and more in education and so there will soon be no role for the teacher in education

In today’s society, the advanced technologies applied onto computers makes them more suitable for education purposes, hence teachers ’ role might be redundant in a foreseeable future. While it could be argued that educators are no longer relevant in the digital era, this essay contends that they still have a crucial role to play not only for lecturing, but also for supporting students to navigate many aspects of life. It is undeniable that teachers are still essential. One of the key functions of lecturers is to provide social skills on top of knowledges. Even though a computer can offer many lessons, it would be complicated to learn how to socialise in the real life and interact with others. In fact, teachers by simply delivering information or assigning group homework, they will support students in being part of a discussion and engaging with their peers. As a result, they will be able to develop communication and teamwork skills which are fundamental in life. Another reason why teachers are critical in the educational path is that they can offer guidance. For instance, if a student shows some difficulties in a specific subject, a computer could only illustrate some corrections, while teachers can provide a plan to acknowledge mistakes, thus improving the understanding of the topic. Despite the fact that a teacher can be a valuable asset, there are those who argue that they will not be needed soon due to the take over of artificial intelligence. They claim that a physical person is not as flexible on work hours as a computer, but most importantly they cannot provide unlimited knowledge like these technologies. Therefore, it would be more efficient for a student to access these infinite expertises at any time rather than an educator. Furthermore, considering that schools budget are constrained by today’s economic situation, employing computers will be cost effective, devolving, perhaps, the surplus on infrastructures. To conclude, although teachers cost a considerable sum of money and often not available, it is my belief that the traditional role of an educator is crucial for student personal and scholastic growth. However, it might be consider for teacher to collaborate with computer so that the best outcome can be achieved.