As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

With the world becoming more developed and integrated, the ability to speak a foreign language especially, a widely spoken one such as English becomes important. Thus, speakers of minority languages are forced to speak a foreign language globally and locally as it may be the only way to integrate into the new world. Some peoples believe that this is a normal process and nothing cannot change it while others start taking action to protect their dialects from fading away. Most things in this world, after their establishment, change and die out after a period of existence, and Languages are not exempted from this process. Some peoples believe that nothing can be done because language is associated with human history; therefore, if a human that carries out a language will die, why the language that he carries should not? They believe that the fact that some dialects are fading away, is a natural law that is unavoidable. For instance, Latin was a worldwide spoken language, but now it has faded away giving birth to other languages. However, there are many countries that managed to save their dialect from fading away. Irish is an example as the government introduced it in schools and all TV and radio programs and prevented it from dying. Indeed, protecting dialects has several benefits. Knowing that each dialect carries out a culture and a tradition from a community, it is important (more valuable) to maintain the dialect meaning saving traditions. This will help some people abroad to recognize themselves, it gives them an identity and brings comprehension as well as cohesion among them. For example, when I travelled to Ukraine without knowing English and Ukrainian, it was people from my country helped to translate into our dialect "ewe" which is a minority language. If these people were not able to speak our dialect, I do not think it would have been easy for me. To conclude, the protection of dialects brings several profits both locally and globally; therefore, countries should take some steps to prevent their dialect from fading away.