Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe thar children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether children should be encouraged to compete with each other or learn collaboration in teams. While the necessity of learning competition cannot be ignored, I do believe that learning how to co-operate with each other is more helpful for children both now and in their future adult lives. On the one hand, competition can be regarded as one of the fastest ways to know oneself, because it often, even always, occurs in stressful contexts, which can prompt children to recognise their own abilities and shortcomings quickly. Therefore, it is reasonable to add some healthy rivalry in school through games and prizes so that pupils can progress in a relatively more efficient way. Furthermore, it is undeniable that due to limited resources, our society is now filled with all kinds of competition, for example with other candidates for job opportunities. Teaching this sense of competition in school could be a preparation in advance. On the other hand, learning cooperation could be a better way for children both now and to prepare them for the future. Firstly, during collaborative work in school teams, children can be led by their teachers to gain a sense of recognising and being acknowledged. They can see what other children have done and learn to praise, and at the same time, they are valued by others as well, which can form a positive cycle. Secondly, each member of the team can use their strengths by working together. For instance, creative children can provide ideas and inspiration, and disciplined children can develop an overall plan for the project. Finally, working together can bring maximum efficiency and effectiveness, which are definitely needed in adult life, especially in the working context. When children learn this in school life, they will have less pressure later on. In conclusion, I do admit that competition needs to be partly included in school teaching, but I am deeply convinced that learning to cooperate with each other in early life is much more desirable.