Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give criminals longer prison sentences. Others however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Everyone in the world would like to live a peaceful life. However, increased criminal activities in many parts of the globe destroy the hope of the public to live happily. Hence, some people believe that increasing punishments would help to reduce felonies. But, in my opinion, this would not be adequate to control violations. I will discuss the other ways to limit criminal activities in the following paragraphs with some examples. First of all, we all may agree that longer imprisonment will help to decline some allegations. Surely that would not be enough to cut down allegations. Therefore, we have to address the root causes of crimes. For example, television and cinema badly influence the attitude as well as the behaviour of the public. Many researchers concluded that violent scenes shown in cinema had a direct impact on documented evil acts. This clearly shows the importance of regulating TV shows and cinema. On the other hand, theft and robbery are at their peak in countries with severe financial crises. Hunger induces nations to involve in stealing money. Therefore, poverty should be eliminated through various short and long-term projects and charities. Murders and cheatings are more common in cities compared to villages. This is mainly due to the cultural bond and helping attitude among inhabitants in the countryside. Increasing good relationships between neighbours can assist in controlling at least a few incidences in cities. Sexual abuse and rapes are rare in some counties where punishments are high. To explain further, sexual harassment and rape are rarely documented in Saudi Arabia the country implementing the death sentences for rape. Whereas, in India, women-related atrocities are much higher because of light sentences. In summary, to control allegations each government should have a broader plan including longer prison sentences.