In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays it is often assumed that children can achieve any goals if they try hard enough. This is partly because the majority of people are not interested in anything and parents encourage them to make an effort in order to reach success. Although being told to try hard is not something which every child would appeal it is an attractive option for many people. Being encouraged to try hard has a number of advantages. At first glance, it may motivate children not to give up at school. For example, if a child studies well, he will have great marks and gain knowledge. Another benefit is that humans may be interested in the variety of activities. A commonly held view is that children can self-educate, open their minds and learn a lot of new instead of degrading and always surfing the internet. Therefore, they become educated which would help them in the future to go to university or apply for a job. However, this makes the assumption that some parents may pressure their children badly. One downside of forcing to work is that lots of adults compel children to do it in an aggressive form and this can make them feel stressed or depressed. An argument that is often asserted is that children may not achieve their goals. Certainly, it might happen but it doesn’t mean that they didn’t try hard, it’s just because someone deserves it more than them. In addition to this, some mistakes and failures cause the motivation to obtain much better results. In conclusion, achieving our goals requires hard work, effort and dedication. Thus, I believe that people will be trying hard enough to succeed without any shortcomings.