Some people think that all university student should study whatever they want. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subject that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The type of subjects to which university students dedicate their time to study has sparked considerable controversy. While some advocate for mere studying subjects constructive for their future, I, along with others believe that studying the favourable ones benefits them the most due to reasons further elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, when it comes to students choosing their majors, their interest is of the highest significance. by being engaged daily in their favourable field, they would foster a sense of satisfaction, potentially resulting in a healthier mental state. Moreover, the sense of freedom this notion instils in them reinforces such satisfaction further. To illustrate, the study conducted at the University of Arkansas, demonstrated a positive correlation between students' happiness and the majors in which they found the to their personal interests, well regardless of the usefulness concept of them. Furthermore, without a great affection to achieve a goal, no one is able to accomplish laborious tasks and get through difficult times. This affection not only builds a responsibility, encouraging them to move further but also serves as an internal motivation. Consequently, at the very hectic days of their lives, when there is nobody to rely on, they can be self-reliant and thus, there will be no giving up in their path. Take a person who is obsessed with mathematics as an example; there absolutely would be times of loneliness and lack of livelihood but due to the person's great affection, resigning is the last thing that comes to his mind. On the other hand, some may claim that there are individuals who waste their time on useless majors. They contend that individuals should anticipate and prioritize acknowledging the way they can exploit their studying field in their lives rather than focusing on their desire. However, this perspective overlooks how detrimental it can be to be engaged daily in an unsatisfactory environment, having to deal with unpleasant subjects, and most importantly, remaining motivated to continue the journey to achieve the respective goal. To cite an example, resentment and disengagement, coupled with less success is noticeable in those who adhere to such belief, highlighting the negative impact of it in their lives. To conclude, although some declare that it is best for people to go after more practical subjects like science, I firmly subscribe to the fact that individuals' urge to study a field should be prioritized due to the happiness, mental well-being and motivation it brings.