In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, broadcasting the courts of law on several social media platforms such as television so that the community can learn about the fate of criminals has become a hotly debated topic. In my opinion, the negative effects of this trend have outweighed the merits. To begin with, streaming criminal trials can provide students with an excellent opportunity to learn, especially for those who are learning about the law. By watching these cases, they can learn from a veteran lawyer how to effectively protect their defendants and how to exploit their opponent’s weaknesses. Taking land disputes as an example, students can learn how to distinguish real legal documents such as land ownership or will from crafted ones, and utilize regulations and commandments to fulfil contracts with clients. Moreover, showing the courts on television can raise social awareness about wrongdoings. It is undoubtedly that people are aware that any violation of the law has consequences, but with these shows specifically depicting the emotions of the prisoners after being sentenced by the judge, the level of awareness could be raised to a higher level. For instance, after witnessing the sentence of committing fraud is serving 10 years in prison, many people are deterred from corruption. That being said, this trend also has some potential negative effects. Firstly, these contents must be strictly controlled and supervised by the authority, since a large portion of the audience is made up of children. If these trials are being shown too often, it could lead them to believe that violating laws and regulations is an ordinary thing, since many people have done it already. For example, many misdemeanours have been committed by teenagers who watch crime-related shows. Not only could it harm the kids but, these shows could also ruin the chance a convict can come back to normal life. This is because once the trials are publicized on the social media network, folks can realize their faces, and have the tendency to avoid making contact with them. For instance, an ex-criminal finds it harder to land a job, compared to someone with a clean record, even though they have every skill required for the job. In conclusion, though showing criminal-related trials via government channels have some benefits such as learning opportunities and raising social awareness about wrongdoings, I believe that allowing perpetrators to be broadcasted on television would do more harm than good to society.